Nona's Sims

Modding and Troubleshooting The Sims 3

Random Rant

Every single time I post on the official forums, I regret it. Why do I keep going back? You’d think I’d learn my lesson once and for all, but no, I always end up going back to help someone out, or try to explain something.

In the end, if somebody cares to know my opinion, they will probably ask me personally, whether through this blog or some other way. So yeah. I gotta stop posting on the official forums, for real.

In other news, I will shortly be making an update to the Amazing Nectar post from yesterday, where I included some false reports about Amazing Nectar. Truly, I apologize for this. I spent a lot of time making nectar in game, and then I forgot whether some were amazing or not. Instead of making the nectar again, I just used EA’s “Predict Fruit Combo Effectiveness” which, it turns out, can be wildly inaccurate. I don’t remember this being the case in the past, but maybe it’s always been like that. Either way, it looks like that particular interaction is useless because it seems to be wrong, very wrong,  and often wrong. Maybe it’s just wrong about the store fruits though. I might do some testing and look into the code later, if time allows.

One more thing: Maybe you noticed I haven’t been very active after all since I came back from my trip home. I’ve actually been really busy and rather stressed. I don’t want to say much yet because I don’t want to jinx myself, but I’m working hard to get something done and I should know in a few weeks at the latest if I was successful. Cryptic, I know. Sorry! It will definitely take away a big chunk of the time I can spend on the Sims though. Sorry for that, too.

March 15, 2014 - Posted by | Uncategorized

3 Comments »

  1. ok long time listener first time caller. hopefully you’r American and listen to NPR or cspan to get 🙂 big fan and direct many many many folks from the sims forums to this awesome blog. thank you for this blog and just as freakin fantastic adding your expertise to the nraas project. i also wanted to say since im a normal poster in official forum it makes me sad to hear you have had bad experiences at the forum. ok j know some call it the romper room – but joking aside i hope you give it another try – ive got a thread there in tech if you ever want to stop by a friendly place http://forum.thesims3.com/jforum/posts/list/645218.page.

    Comment by ceejay | March 16, 2014 | Reply

    • Hi ceejay, thank you for your kind comment 🙂 I really needed it. I have seen you posting on the official forums a lot. You might not recognize me on the official forums because I have a different user name there.

      I actually figured I’d regret posting this as well, since there are really many nice people on the official forums and I don’t want to write them off just because some people upset me. You have a great thread going there in the official forums, thanks a lot for sharing it. I will add a link to it later on the blog 🙂

      Thanks again for your comment.

      Comment by Nona | March 16, 2014 | Reply

      • you are too kind and i too think the forums can be a bit much on occasion but i so hope to see you around more. and i think i know who you are!!! its your in-depth knowledge that is making me think this 🙂

        Comment by ceejay | March 17, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

