Nona's Sims

Modding and Troubleshooting The Sims 3

I fixed my Crash problem!

Not too long ago, I mentioned in passing that my game had been crashing recently, and I had no idea why. Before then, I hadn’t really had that many problems with random crashing, and those that I did have were back on my old 32-bit system with only 2GB of RAM. Those were almost always related to Save Error 12 and running out of memory. By the way, if you have Save Error 12 issues, I have bad news for you. The only way you can get rid of them completely is to upgrade your system and get more RAM. I know people don’t like to hear that, and trust me, I understand. I really do. But it’s the only permanent solution. Anyhow, I digress.

So yeah, my random crashing: it was caused by running in Windowed Mode. I used to use FPS Limiter, so running in Windowed Mode was never a problem when it came to my graphics card overheating. I don’t actually know whether my graphics card was overheating, so I’m not sure why Windowed Mode was causing my game crash. In fact, my graphics card shouldn’t overheat, so it’s weird. Nonetheless, it’s been over a week since I went back to Full Screen and I haven’t had a single crash. The game runs better in Full Screen anyhow, so I’m happy. I can just pop into Windowed mode quick like with Alt+Enter when I need to take screenshots or something. I was mainly playing in Windowed Mode because I had been doing a lot of mod testing and making screen shots, and I just ended up staying in Windowed Mode.  Next time, I won’t be so lazy.

Update 15 April – Still no crashes. I am a happy simmer!

April 9, 2012 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

