Nona's Sims

Modding and Troubleshooting The Sims 3

Horse Mod: No/Slower Social and Exercise Decay for Horses and Unicorns (1.31)

19 June 2012 – Updated Slower Motive Decay mod to fix a typo which caused horse social motives to decay too quickly. Please re-download.

2 March 2012 – Updated for patch 1.31.

Please re-download if you patched your game.

This mod was requested by a very nice person over at Equus Sims. I have two flavors available.

Important Details:

  • This mod requires the Sims 3 PETS Expansion Pack. Using it without PETS may have unpredictable consequences. There is no reason to use this mod if you don’t have PETS, as this mod only affects motive decay for Horses and Unicorns.
  • This mod was built with patch 1.31 and I cannot guarantee that it will be compatible with any other patch level.
  • Please check for updates before using this mod after a major patch, as it is very likely to require an update.

Compatibility:

  • This mod is NOT compatible with any other mod that alters the Motives XML in the GameplayData.package. Therefore, this mod is NOT compatible with any mod that alters the fundamental motive decay rates for other species. Twoftmama’s 50% Energy Decay mod, and her Slower Motive Decay mod, are both examples of mods that will conflict with this mod. Use only one!
  • This mod will conflict with my No Autonomous Exit Box Stall mods. Those mods include this functionality, so if you want both, use No Autonomous Exit Box Stall.
  • If you are not sure if a mod will conflict with another, use Delphy’s Sims 3 Dashboard Tool to check.

Slower Social and Exercise Decay for Horses

This mod drastically slows down the Social and Exercise motive decay rates for Horses, and consequently, Unicorns.

Original Social Decay New Social Decay Original Exercise Decay New Exercise Decay
Horse -8.33/hr -.71/hr -17.86 -.78/hr
Unicorn -6.67/hr -.57/hr -11.43/hr -.5/hr

No Social and Exercise Decay for Horses and Unicorns

This mod removes decay for the Social and Exercise motives for Horses, and consequently, Unicorns.

Download

Use only one flavor!

Download and More Information/Flavors available at Simlogical

Additional Credits:
Peter & Inge Jones for S3PE, Armiel for the Builder’s DIY Island which I use so frequently for testing.

February 23, 2012 - Posted by | Mods, Pets Mods | , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. […] No/Slower Exercise and Social decay for horses […]

    Pingback by Patch 1.34 Compatibility « Nona's Sims | June 4, 2012 | Reply

  2. Nona, thank you for your awesome mods. I’d been looking for one to slow motive decay in horses for a while. One thing – after installing this (I have patch level 1.33), the exercise decay seems to be slowed but social decay seems to be much quicker? Overnight, the horses get to zero social motive and I get the dialog box threatening me with a social worker unless my pets’ motives improve. I checked on delphy’s dashboard and it doesn’t say I’ve got any conflicts. I do have Chaavik’s More Fun Activities – could that be causing a conflict even though it wasn’t listed as one?

    Comment by Claire | June 11, 2012 | Reply

    • Hi Claire. Thanks for the report (I wish I’d seen it before I went to bed last night). I’m not really sure what could be the problem, but it could be a another mod (not necessarily a conflict).

      It would be great if you could run a test for me. Remove all mods except this one (you can leave in nointro and ErrorTrap) and start a new game, with a horse. You could just go to AP and start a game with of the families in the neighborhood that has a horse. Then notice if the horses’ social motive drops as fast. If it doesn’t, then you have a problem somewhere.

      If you have an account at MTS, feel free to PM me there if you’d like to speed this up.

      Comment by Nona | June 12, 2012 | Reply

      • Hi Nona. Thanks for the reply. Sorry it took me a while to get back to you. I removed all my mods except this one (the slower decay version), and tested it in a new game in AP. I left my CC in.
        This time, the exercise bar didn’t decay at *all* and stayed completely full throughout (despite having the little red arrows that indicate it is depleting), and the social bar went from being about 80% full to being so low that the social worker notification came up after about 8-10 hours of no interaction when everyone was asleep.
        I have a LOT of CC, so I’ve no idea if something I’ve got there is interfering with the mod. It shouldn’t do though, as far as I know, since it’s only clothes/hair/accessories/skins etc.

        Comment by Claire | June 18, 2012 | Reply

      • I got to bookmark this site. You really cleared this question up for me. I found your write up on my Website feed. I really do love these insights you’ve made here however I really doubt they can be applied in the real world. I’m kind of bored to death at work so I decided to check out your website on my laptop during first period break.

        Comment by Marketing Consultant | December 17, 2018 | Reply

  3. Oh for the love of plumbob… There was an error in the package. I had updated this at some point, I can’t recall when, and I switched the values by mistake, meaning, I made it go faster instead of slower. Huge oversight on my part. You are the first person to report this. SO either nobody updated or they just didn’t complain. They might also be using the the No Autonomous Exit Box STall version which didn’t have this error.

    Anyhow, I am really sorry about this. Please re-downlaod the file, as I have fixed it and put in the correct numbers.

    Comment by Nona | June 18, 2012 | Reply

    • I will re-download. Thanks so much for fixing!

      Comment by Claire | June 18, 2012 | Reply

  4. All I get when I click on the links is ‘Error 404: file not found’

    Comment by Larentia | May 20, 2017 | Reply


Leave a comment