Nona's Sims

Modding and Troubleshooting The Sims 3

Tutorial: How to Install Lots (sims3pack) without using the Launcher

This tutorial will show you how to install a lot into your game without using the Launcher. You will need:

Delphy’s Sims3Pack Multi-Extracter (Requires .NET framework 2.0) or Echo’s Lepid Llama Unpacker
A lot in Sims3Pack format

Note: This method does not require you to have set up the Mods framework. Also, I’ve only ever used Delphy’s Multi-Extracter.

Part 1: Extract the package

  1. If you haven’t done so already, unzip Delphy’s Extracter to some place where you can find it.
  2. Run the .exe (double click on it)
  3. In the first field, browse to the folder where you have your sims3pack
  4. In the second field, browse to the folder where you want to extract the .package file to
  5. Tick the box at the bottom: “Rename files on Save.” If the lot has no CC attached to it, the package file will have the same name as the Sims3Pack.
  6. Click the Extract button on the bottom right side of the window.
  7. You now have a package file!

Part 2: Add it to your game
Put the .package you just extracted in the following folder: Documents\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3\Library\

Yep, it’s that easy! The lot will now show up in your Library in Edit Town. If you download a sim or a sim household in sims3pack format, you can use the same method above and put the .package in the same folder, and the sim(s) will show up in your Library in Edit Town.

If you save a copy of your Library folder, you will never have to re-install your custom lots via the launcher again. Just put your library folder somewhere safe.

You can also use this method to install custom content, like clothes, objects, makeup, etc. into your game via the Mods folder instead of the launcher. This gives the added benefit of being able to easily find a piece of CC that you want to remove.

Note: If you use decrapified sims3packs, first decrapify the lot before extracting the package file.

Other Useful Tools

  • Run the sims3pack through Delphy’s CUSTARD before doing this, to see if there’s any CC hitchhiking on the lot.
  • Use S3PE or another package editor to peek inside the packages if you extract a sims3pack with many packages inside. Look for the the ICON and THUM resources to see what each package holds.

Related Tutorials

March 6, 2012 - Posted by | Tutorial | , , , , ,

8 Comments »

  1. I don’t even know if you’re gonna see this or not but might as well try. So I’m in the middle of unpacking sims3pack right now that involves sims because all that extra clothes and makeup, I don’t want it. So taking it from this article, you say to put the file in the library folder and it will appear in edit town. Is it possible for me to merge the files in library folders? I mean, all those packages.. won’t it lag my game more?

    Comment by Julissa | November 16, 2013 | Reply

    • Hiya Julissa, I’m glad you left a comment.

      I have no experience with merging packages in the Library folder, and as far as I know, it’s not generally necessary or recommended. In fact, I do not know if it would work. But, you could try. Just keep the originals in a safe place and don’t delete them. Then merge the packages, load your game up and see if everything shows up. If it does, great. If not, no harm done. Remove the merged package and put the originals back.

      I don’t know how many lots/sims you’re planning on having your library. At some point, it probably will increase loading time when going into Edit Town, but it’s not going to cause lag during game play. Merging packages only speeds up loading time; it has no effect on actual gameplay.

      Hope this helps :) If you try to merge packages for the Library folder, I’d love it and really appreciated it if you’d report back and let me know how it went.

      Comment by Nona | November 16, 2013 | Reply

      • It doesn’t work. haha. Thanks for replying back, though. I’m gonna go into the edit town and I will take the sim into CAS and then save them to bin so I can take it out of library. That does seem like it’ll work, right?

        I have more questions. Is there anything I can do to help with lagging that doesn’t require getting a new computer or graphics card? Would alot of CC make the gameplay laggy? There are some worlds that I’m playing that seems fine but when I play in Bridgeport, everything is so laggy and I really love that world. I’m also deleting some CC just cause I don’t care for it anymore but not all but if it would make my gameplay faster, then I would definitely delete some more. I’m sorry for all the questions. Thanks again. I love your mods! :)

        Comment by Julissa | November 17, 2013 | Reply

      • Oh, wait the sims doesn’t show up in the edit town. Maybe I did it wrong but I’m gonna them let go cause I just checked my sim bin and I have way too many sims there. So nevermind about that.

        Comment by Julissa | November 17, 2013 | Reply

      • Hi again, Julissa. I had a feeling it wouldn’t work. Too bad.

        If you save a sim to the bin, you won’t see it in Edit Town. Those sims are stored in the SavedSims folder (as .sim) in your The Sims 3 folder in Documents\Electronic Arts. You need to complete the process of creating the household for the sim to end up in the Library.

        Sometimes deleting CC can help with game performance, but that’s only when there’s something wrong about the CC: it’s not made correctly, or it might have too high poly count. Bridgeport is one of those towns that is infamous for lag. It has a lot of routing issues. You could try using Faster Loading and Moving of the Elevators (requires Late Night EP) (you must register to see the thread & downlaod the mod.) It might help a bit :) I also recommend Bridgeport.world with Routing Fixes applied.

        I do like to clean out my cc occasionally and get rid of stuff that I don’t use. If I don’t use it, it’s just taking up space for no good reason, so I do think it’s a good idea to clean out your cc from time to time, though it might not help with game performance.

        Comment by Nona | November 17, 2013 | Reply

  2. I meant when I put the unpacked sim packages in the library folder, it didn’t show up in edit town.. I don’t know if I did it wrong. I only plan to download .sim files from now on anyways. Thanks again for everything. I will go ahead and download those mods. :)

    Comment by Julissa | November 17, 2013 | Reply

  3. I just did that, but some of files does not appear in game, mainly lots,i have 0 lots at all :x what to do ?

    Comment by ray | May 26, 2014 | Reply

    • Make sure you put the lots in the correct folder. They go in Documents\Electronic Arts\The Sims 3\Library\

      You can’t put them in the Mods folder.

      Comment by Nona | May 27, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

